clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FIFA World Cup Playoff Rosters: Jet-setting New Zealand versus all-local Mexico

New Zealand and Mexico have announced their rosters, now the fun begins!

West Ham's Winston Reid will feature for New Zealand
West Ham's Winston Reid will feature for New Zealand
Laurence Griffiths

Shortly after Miguel Herrera was entrusted with the mantle of Mexico's coach, he quickly submitted a roster devoid of any internationals playing outside of Mexico. New Zealand's All-White's coach Ricki Herbert is making no such restrictions. Herbert's squad, set to congregate in Los Angeles on Saturday (November 9th) will comprised of players from Europe and from the A-League, although MLS watchers may remember Jeremy Brockie from his loan spell with Toronto FC this season.

Here's New Zealand's roster:


Goalkeepers: Glen Moss (Wellington Phoenix), Jacob Spoonley (Wellington Phoenix), Tamati Williams (Auckland City).

Defenders: Andrew Durante (Wellington Phoenix), Tony Lochhead (unattached), Winston Reid (West Ham United), Storm Roux (Central Coast Mariners), Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town), Bill Tuiloma (Marsellie), Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City).

Midfielders: Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix), Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United), Jeremy Christie (unattached), Craig Henderson (Mjallby), Chris James (Kuopion Palloseura), Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners).

Forwards: Kosta Barbarouses (Melbourne Victory), Jeremy Brockie (Wellington Phoenix), Rory Fallon (St. Johnstone), Marco Rojas (Vfb Stuttgart), Shane Smeltz (Perth Glory), Chris Wood (Leicester City).

And here is the Mexican side's sheet:

Goalkeepers: José de Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Moisés Muñoz (Club América)

Defenders: Rafa Márquez (León), Francisco "Maza" Rodríguez (Club América), Juan Carlos Valenzuela (Club América), Paul Aguilar (Club América), Miguel Layún (Club América), Edwin Hernández (León), Adrián Aldrete (Club América), Miguel Herrera (Pachuca), Hiram Mier (Monterrey)

Midfielders: Rodrigo Salinas (Morelia), Juan Carlos Medina (Club América), Antonio Naelson "Sinha" (Toluca), Carlos Peña (León), Luis Ángel Mendoza (Club América), Luis Montes (León), Jesús Molina (Club América), Alonso Escoboza (Santos Laguna)

Forwards: Oribe Peralta (Santos Laguna), Raúl Jiménez (Club América), Aldo de Nigris (Guadalajara)

What do you think? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!

More from The Goat Parade: