clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Full list of players released for MLS Re-Entry process

No surprises on Chivas' list.

Fabian Espindola is among the players available.
Fabian Espindola is among the players available.
Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

MLS released the full list of players available for this year's Re-Entry process Monday. Players who have at least three years MLS experience and are out of contract without receiving a new offer from their current club, in addition to players whose clubs have declined the club option on their contracts, are eligible for the Re-Entry drafts.

It works both ways. Teams allow players to go into the Re-Entry process, and then teams have the option of selecting players for in the two phases of the draft. In the first phase, which will take place Thursday, if teams take players, they must pick up their contract option or negotiate with out-of-contract players on the same salary scale as they were on. In phase two, which will take place Wednesday December 18, teams can renegotiate current deals and negotiate at different (read: lower) terms with players.

Teams that release players to the Re-Entry drafts can still negotiate with a player in the meantime and remove them from the list ahead of either stage.

Phase one is usually pretty light, but phase two leads to a fair number of selections.

Chivas did not release any additional players, leaving Steve Purdy and Josue Soto available. Defender Ante Jazic, under contract this year but unwanted by the 2013 Chivas regime, is out of contract and available, but it is unclear if he would return to playing or not.

The full list has a lot of former Chivas USA players, too. Will there be any new Chivas USA players from this process this year? We'll have to wait and find out.

Here's the full list:

Chicago Fire: Corben Bone, Shaun Francis, Joel Lindpere, Daniel Paladini, Logan Pause, Chris Rolfe, Maicon Santos, Wells Thompson, Michael Videira

Chivas USA: Ante Jazic, Steve Purdy, Josue Soto

Columbus Crew: Danny O'Rourke, Konrad Warzycha

Colorado Rapids: Steward Ceus, Brian Mullan, Jamie Smith

D.C. United: Dwayne De Rosario James Riley, Carlos Ruiz, Marcelo Saragosa, John Thorrington, Daniel Woolard

FC Dallas: Kenny Cooper, David Ferreira, Ugo Ihemelu

Houston Dynamo: Bobby Boswell, Calen Carr, Mike Chabala, Alex Dixon, Cam Weaver

LA Galaxy: Colin Clark, Laurent Courtois, Sean Franklin, Pablo Mastroeni

Montreal Impact: Sinisa Ubiparipovic

New England Revolution: Kevin Alston, Chad Barrett, Ryan Guy, Clyde Simms, Juan Toja

New York Red Bulls: Andre Akpan, Brandon Barklage, Fabian Espindola, Kevin Hartman, Heath Pearce

Philadelphia Union: Chris Albright

Portland Timbers: David Horst, Ryan Miller

Real Salt Lake: Yordany Alvarez, Brandon McDonald, Josh Saunders, Khari Stephenson

Seattle Sounders: Marc Burch, Josh Ford, Blair Gavin, Mauro Rosales, Steve Zakuani

San Jose Earthquakes: Nana Attakora, Mehdi Ballouchy, Dan Gargan, Evan Newton

Toronto FC: Justin Braun, Bobby Convey

Vancouver Whitecaps: Joe Cannon, Tommy Heinemann, Corey Hertzog, Brad Knighton

What do you think? Leave a comment below!