clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LAFC has 22 owners listed on their website, including reported owners, Magic Johnson, Mia Hamm, Nomar Garciaparra

A lot of people, a lot of money, presumably.

Guber (third from left, in pinstripe suit) and Johnson (right) are in on LAFC.
Guber (third from left, in pinstripe suit) and Johnson (right) are in on LAFC.

From their corporate's the slate of owners for Los Angeles FC:

Henry Nguyen: Owner and Executive Chairman

Tom Penn: Owner and President

Peter Guber: Owner and Managing Partner

Allan Shapiro: Owner

Anthony Robbins: Owner

Bennett Rosenthal: Owner

Brandon Schneider: Owner

Chad Hurley: Owner

Harry Tsao: Owner

Irwin Raij: Owner

Jason Sugarman: Owner

Kirk Lacob: Owner

Larry Berg: Owner

Magic Johnson: Owner

Mia Hamm Garciaparra: Owner

Mike Mahan: Owner

Mark Leschly: Owner

Nomar Garciaparra: Owner

Paul Schaeffer: Owner

Rick Welts: Owner

Ruben Gnanalingam: Owner

Vincent Tan: Owner

If you're keeping track, that's 22 (22!) owners.

It's going to take me some time to go through the entire list, but there's considerable sports experience among the group. Magic Johnson, who co-owns the Dodgers with Guber, is of course an LA legend from his time with the Lakers. Rick Welts is a former executive with the Phoenix Suns.

Then there's the soccer-baseball tandem of Mia Hamm, one of the very best women's soccer players in history, and her husband, former MLB star and LA native Nomar Garciaparra.

Vincent Tan, rumored to be part of the group, is conspicuously listed last. The Cardiff City owner has soccer experience, but it seems he's not one of the major shakers in this vast ownership group.

More news as it comes down!

What do you think? Leave a comment below!