clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LAFC well-represented on 2018 MLS season awards ballot

Vela, Rossi and Miller in contention for two awards apiece.

Courtesy of LAFC

MLS released the candidates for various end-of-season awards for 2018 on Monday, with voting among team personnel and selected media kicking off. No surprise, but Los Angeles Football Club are in the reckoning for a number of awards.

Carlos Vela and Diego Rossi lead the way, as the duo were nominated for the biggest honor, MLS MVP, alongside 39 other players around the league. Both players are also on the shortlist for MLS Newcomer of the Year, for players new to the league who are not rookies.

Two black-and-gold players, Steven Beitashour and Walker Zimmerman, are in contention for MLS Defender of the Year.

Tyler Miller is nominated for MLS Goalkeeper of the Year, as well as Humanitarian of the Year, for his work in the community.

Two first-year players, defenders Tristan Blackmon and Joao Moutinho, are nominated for MLS Rookie of the Year.

And the boss, Bob Bradley, has been nominated for MLS Coach of the Year. He’s previously won the award twice, in 1998 and 2006.

In all, the only category involving players or coaches that LAFC didn’t have a nomination was Comeback Player of the Year, an amorphous award that remains a catch-all for injured players, personal problems and career lulls.

Bear in mind, that while there’s plenty of nominees here for LAFC, the votes still need to be cast to see if LAFC will take home any of these individual honors. Finalists for the awards will be revealed on Halloween, with winners being announced throughout the MLS playoffs.

Congrats to the black-and-gold nominees, and best of luck to them.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!