clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Benny Feilhaber, Jordan Harvey among MLS Free Agent class for 2019

LAFC duo has more flexibility to sign with any MLS team.

Los Angeles FC v Seattle Sounders Photo by Stephen Brashear/Getty Images

MLS released their MLS Free Agent class ahead of the 2019 season on Monday, and two Los Angeles Football Club players, Benny Feilhaber and Jordan Harvey, are among those eligible for Free Agency.

In the program, Free Agents must be at least 28 during the 2018 season and have at least eight years of MLS service. These players are then able to go to any MLS team and sign, without their previous team holding their MLS rights.

It’s different than plain old free agents, who can sign with any team after going through the Waiver Draft, Re-Entry Draft and have not been offered a “bonafide” contract by their last team. In this way, LAFC do not have the upper hand on re-signing Feilhaber and Harvey, as the players can go to any team they like.

That’s not to say those two cannot re-sign with LAFC. Harvey, after all, was one of LAFC’s first two Free Agent signings in 2018. The general market might be better for Feilhaber, depending on his asking price, but the door is not shut on either or both returning for 2019. However, it’s certainly not guaranteed, either.

Of course, LAFC can sign up to two Free Agents this offseason, so they could bring these guys back or sign another player or two. Here’s the full list of Free Agents as of today:

  • Ozzie Alonso (M)
  • Arturo Alvarez (M)
  • Quincy Amarikwa (F)
  • DaMarcus Beasley (D)
  • Tony Beltran (D)
  • Marc Burch (D)
  • Ricardo Clark (M)
  • Aurelien Collin (D)
  • Andrew Dykstra (GK)
  • Brad Evans (M/D)
  • Benny Feilhaber (M)
  • Sean Franklin (D)
  • Jake Gleeson (GK)
  • Alan Gordon (F - announced retirement)
  • Jordan Harvey (D)
  • Jason Hernandez (D)
  • David Horst (D - announced retirement)
  • Baggio Husidic (M)
  • Chris Konopka (GK)
  • Leonardo (D)
  • Roy Miller (D)
  • Chance Myers (D)
  • Lamar Neagle (F)
  • Dominic Oduro (F)
  • Michael Parkhurst (D)
  • Jacob Peterson (F)
  • Chris Schuler (D)
  • Brek Shea (M/D)
  • Tony Tchani (M)
  • Chris Tierney (D - announced retirement)
  • Rodney Wallace (D/M)
  • Collen Warner (M)
  • Sheanon Williams (D)
  • Sal Zizzo (D)

What do you think? Leave a comment below!