clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LAFC forward Diego Rossi fined by MLS for diving

But no suspension!

MLS: Minnesota United FC at Los Angeles FC Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

If you’re new to MLS, there’s this thing called the Disciplinary Committee, which meets periodically to dole out retroactive punishments on various matters. This week, they came for Los Angeles Football Club for the first time.

On Friday, the league revealed the DisCo has fined LAFC forward Diego Rossi an undisclosed amount for “simulation/embellishment” in first-half stoppage time of Wednesday’s 2-0 win over Minnesota United.

Uh, yeah, so he took a dive.

The good news is that this is just a fine, not a suspension. The bad news, potentially, is if he does this on a regular basis, he will eventually be suspended for it. Also, there’s a risk referees will begin to pick him out as a “diver” and will look the other way in the future when he goes to ground.

So this is a slap on the wrist, a warning not to try to trick the ref in flagrant fashion in the future.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!