clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LAFC 2019 Goalkeeper of the Year: Tyler Miller

Miller’s 28 starts enough to out-do Sisniega.

MLS: Los Angeles FC at Orlando City SC Douglas DeFelice-USA TODAY Sports

Tyler Miller was voted Los Angeles Football Club’s Goalkeeper of the Year by the readers of Angels On Parade.

Winning 60 percent of the poll, Miller’s consistency over 28 starts in LAFC’s best season yet proved to be enough to out-do second place Pablo Sisniega.

Sisniega finished with 40 percent of the vote despite making only six starts on the year. He certainly impressed enough in those performances to give Miller a close run for his money.

Miller allowed just 28 goals in his 28 starts. He also turned in nine shutouts and two separate three-game stretches without allowing a single goal. Those stretches were part of a nine-game stretch where he only allowed 3 goals.

LAFC decided to protect Sisniega and not Miller before the Expansion Draft, but luckily for the Black & Gold, Miller was not selected by either Inter Miami CF or Nashville SC.

Congratulations to Tyler on the end-of-season award.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!