clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LAFC win 2019 Supporters’ Shield

The first title is bound for the trophy case.

Houston Dynamo v Los Angeles FC Photo by Shaun Clark/Getty Images

Los Angeles Football Club made history on Wednesday, clinching the 2019 Supporters’ Shield as the team with the best record in the 2019 MLS regular season, with a 3-1 win over the Houston Dynamo at The Banc.

Goals from Carlos Vela, Diego Rossi and Eduard Atuesta canceled out an own goal from Tyler Miller to deliver the key three points, ensuring New York City FC cannot catch up to and surpass LAFC by the end of the regular season, which is rapidly approaching.

LAFC are the first team to win the Supporters’ Shield in their first two seasons in the expansion era of MLS, and the first to do it at all since D.C. United in 1997. A couple MLS teams have won trophies in their first season in the expansion era (post-1998), the Chicago Fire and Seattle Sounders, but neither team won the Supporters’ Shield and LAFC join those clubs and Atlanta United FC in winning a major title in their first two seasons.

It’s a testament to LAFC’s quality that they got the job done, bringing a dream of winning titles to fruition. Here’s hoping this is not the only time we experience this, but savor this feeling...some of us have waited a very long time for this moment.

What do you think? Leave a comment below!