While he’s therefore suspended for Tuesday’s CCL final against Tigres UANL, LAFC haven’t given up hope of having the Colombian midfielder back in action for the title game.
Atuesta was sent off in first-half stoppage time for what appears to be deemed a head butt on América goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa. The incident occurred well behind the action, and it appears impossible the referee saw the encounter between the players himself, live. CCL has no VAR, it must be noted.
Angels on Parade received word Sunday morning from an LAFC spokesperson that the club is talking to Concacaf about the process to appeal Atuesta’s red card ahead of the final.
Will the appeal work? Can’t say at this point, since appeals parameters are publicly unclear. Also, Concacaf isn’t accustomed to such a short turnaround when it comes to CCL games, so who knows if they would act before Tuesday night if they did hear an appeal. All of that remains to be seen.
This slow-motion video is going around LAFC circles seeming to show that Atuesta absolutely did not issue a crunching head butt on Ochoa and the GK certainly exaggerated any contact between the players.
Will that be enough to overturn a suspension for a Champions League final? That’s the biggest question for LAFC at the moment.
What do you think? Leave a comment below.