clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

LAFC 2021 MLS regular season schedule revealed

New, 3 comments

Here’s the full scheduled league slate for the year.

MLS: LA Galaxy at Los Angeles FC Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

MLS released the full 2021 MLS regular season schedule on Wednesday, and now we know the full road ahead for LAFC in league play this year.

While we already knew of a few games for the black-and-gold, the full slate gives us a better sense of how the schedule is structured this season. LAFC are scheduled to play 32 of their 34 games against fellow Western Conference opposition, but unlike last year when they played the same teams five or six times, this time they play each opponent a maximum of three times in the regular season.

11 of the 34 games are scheduled for weekdays, mostly Wednesdays, although there’s a Friday, Tuesday and Monday sprinkled in (I suspect the Monday date will be moved, usually the penultimate week is played on Sunday).

The locations of the games against the Vancouver Whitecaps are not yet listed, presumably to give flexibility as to which games are played where depending on what the regulations are in Canada at that point for travel for sports teams, and if the Whitecaps are able to play at their usual BC Place home in Vancouver later in the campaign.

We’ll have more reactions to the schedule to come, but here’s how it looks:

Full LAFC 2021 MLS regular season schedule (times listed are PT):

  • Saturday, Apr. 17: vs. Austin FC (2:30 pm, Fox)
  • Saturday, Apr. 24: vs. Seattle Sounders (3 pm, ESPN)
  • Saturday, May 1: at Houston Dynamo (12:30 pm, Univision)
  • Saturday, May 8: at LA Galaxy (5 pm, Fox)
  • Sunday, May 16: at Seattle Sounders (6:30 pm, FS1)
  • Saturday, May 22: vs. Colorado Rapids (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Saturday, May 29: vs. New York City FC (3 pm, UniMás)
  • Saturday, June 19: vs. Houston Dynamo (8 pm, UniMás)
  • Wednesday, June 23: vs. FC Dallas (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Saturday, June 26: at Sporting Kansas City (2 pm, ESPN)
  • Saturday, July 3: at Real Salt Lake (7 pm, local TV)
  • Wednesday, July 7: at Austin FC (6 pm, local TV)
  • Saturday, July 17: vs. Real Salt Lake (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Wednesday, July 21: at Portland Timbers (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Saturday, July 24: Vancouver Whitecaps (location TBD), (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Wednesday, July 28: vs. Minnesota United (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 4: vs. Sporting Kansas City (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Sunday, Aug. 8: at San Jose Earthquakes (4 pm, local TV)
  • Sunday, Aug. 15: at Atlanta United (1 pm, ESPN)
  • Saturday, Aug. 21: Vancouver Whitecaps (location TBD), (7 pm, local TV)
  • Saturday, Aug. 28: vs. LA Galaxy (5 pm, Fox)
  • Friday, Sept. 3: vs. Sporting Kansas City (7 pm, UniMás)
  • Sunday, Sept. 12: vs. Real Salt Lake (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 15: at Austin FC (6 pm, local TV)
  • Sunday, Sept. 19: at Portland Timbers (3 pm, FS1)
  • Saturday, Sept. 25: at San Jose Earthquakes (7 pm, local TV)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 29: vs. Portland Timbers (7 pm, FS1)
  • Sunday, Oct. 3: vs. LA Galaxy (5 pm, ESPN)
  • Saturday, Oct. 16: vs. San Jose Earthquakes (12:30 pm, Univision)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 20: at FC Dallas (5 pm, local TV)
  • Saturday, Oct. 23: at Minnesota United (5 pm, local TV)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 26: vs. Seattle Sounders (7:30 pm, ESPN)
  • Monday, Nov. 1: Vancouver Whitecaps (location TBD), (7:30 pm, local TV)
  • Sunday, Nov. 7: at Colorado Rapids (3 pm, local TV)

What do you think? Leave a comment below.