clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LAFC win MLS Cup, Supporters’ Shield double

Black-and-gold make great season historic.

MLS: MLS Cup Championship-Philadelphia Union vs Los Angeles FC Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

LAFC are the MLS Cup Champions.

I’ll say it again: LAFC are the 2022 MLS Cup Champions, after outlasting the Philadelphia Union in a penalty shootout 3-0, following 120-plus minutes of 3-3 soccer between the teams.

It was an epic game, one of the best ever, and it was quintessential LAFC: Epic, nerve-wracking, sometimes harder than it needs to be, but always entertaining.

With the MLS Cup win, LAFC have won the domestic league double in 2022, as they also won the Supporters’ Shield as the regular season champion. They’re in elite company with that honor, being the first team since 2017 to win the Shield-MLS Cup double.

  • 2022: LAFC
  • 2017: Toronto FC (they also won the domestic treble, having also won the Canadian Championship)
  • 2011: LA Galaxy
  • 2008: Columbus Crew
  • 2002: LA Galaxy
  • 2000: Kansas City Wizards
  • 1999: D.C. United
  • 1997: D.C. United

That’s it, that’s the list.

It’s an accomplishment befitting a terrific season for LAFC. And it officially puts their 2022 campaign in the pantheon of one of the best in MLS history. This will go down as a legendary team in league lore.

Hopefully this is just the beginning. But take a moment to savor the fun of LAFC actually doing it and winning the double!

What do you think? Leave a comment below.